More on why I named my site NoMoreFakeNews in 2001

More on why I named my site NoMoreFakeNews in 2001

by Jon Rappoport

January 17, 2018

“Watching a puppet show where humans earnestly take on the roles of the puppets, in their lives, might be depressing. But if you’re looking at it from a place outside the reality machine, it has an entertaining aspect. It deserves a category on awards programs: ‘best imitation of non-human behavior by humans’.” (The Underground, Jon Rappoport)

In 2001, I made a decision to start a website. I came up with several names, none of which impressed me or my wife. Then, as a lark, I said: NoMoreFakeNews. It seemed to fit.

As I’ve previously written, I’d already had a great deal of experience taking apart lies of the medical cartel. All those lies had been promoted without let-up in the mainstream press. They were fake news.

But I’d had a recent experience with government that also impressed me. And of course, government embodies fake news.

I’d been invited by a Nevada state legislator to testify in front of two committees considering “childhood problems.” The first was over-the-counter drugs.

In small room in a building in Carson City, I explained that cortisone medications could have harmful effects. I held up a box of one of the drugs and detailed the packaging—pretty colors, childish fonts, a general cartoonish look designed to appeal to kids. An angry councilwoman stopped me when I started talking about the drug’s manufacturer. She admitted she owned stock in the company, but nevertheless, she said, I was out of bounds, because I was bringing up corporate and commercial factors that had no place in the hearing. I grinned and couldn’t stop grinning. I said corporate factors were definitely relevant in a government hearing. I couldn’t believe this idiot councilwoman was trying to hold me back, while at the same time baldly confessing she owned stock in the company I was excoriating. I was reminded of conversations I’d had with magazine editors, to whom I’d pitched story ideas. They, too, were quite protective of “territories where no reporter should tread.” Fake news was their forte.

In the second committee hearing, I sat in a larger room with more legislators. The subject was recent school shootings, and what could be done to prevent them. I would be allowed to speak for a few minutes about the tendency of some psychiatric drugs to push children over the edge into extreme violence. The legislator who’d invited me leaned over and told me the only conclusions the committee would draw from the hearing were: there was a need for better security at schools, as well as a need for “better observation of child behavior before violence erupted.” My testimony would be tolerated and then completely ignored. While people were chatting in groups before the committee was called to order, in walked the Attorney General of Nevada. Immediately, a circle of fawning government employees gathered around her. She was smiling and in a good mood. She began telling stories, and her admirers smiled and laughed on cue. She relayed a quick anecdote about President Bill Clinton recently visiting Nevada. Her listeners’ faces immediately shifted into Awe. I was a guest at a puppet show. There was a pecking order. At the bottom, the legislators. Above them, the state Attorney General. Far above her, the living god, President Bill Clinton. These levels of status were unshakable and automatic. It was interesting being in a fake room with fake people. Reporters would duly relay the conclusions of the committee in their fake stories the next day. The whole procedure was happening in a scene that could have been included in Orwell’s Animal Farm.

After the hearing, I went to my hotel room, tried to estimate how many hours and how much money were wasted in a year of pre-packaged committee hearings in Nevada, and gave up.

I’d seen, up close, other ways people made a fake living, but this one was new to me at the time. Take instructions on how to vote from party leaders, pretend to listen to testimony, cast votes, forget the whole thing, and do it again the next day with a new hearing on a new subject.

I could call it tribal behavior, but tribes have a lot more energy than politicians. No, this was an animated cartoon. The participants had learned how to chitter and jabber and look earnest and show concern—and get elected.

This was fakery at the level of personality. As in: carving it to fit a mold of the most superficial type. Animal Farm? More like a Disney zoo. Perform on little artificial islands for the spectators.

Then, on the side, pocket a few payoffs and favors from slightly more agile players. Six bananas, five apples, a stack of hay, and perhaps, one day, a cottage next to an artificial lake.

Very instructive.

And these people make decisions and no-decisions that affect lives.

Who in his right mind wouldn’t name a site NoMoreFakeNews?


The Matrix Revealed

(To read about Jon’s mega-collection, The Matrix Revealed, click here.)


Jon Rappoport

The author of three explosive collections, THE MATRIX REVEALED, EXIT FROM THE MATRIX, and POWER OUTSIDE THE MATRIX, Jon was a candidate for a US Congressional seat in the 29th District of California. He maintains a consulting practice for private clients, the purpose of which is the expansion of personal creative power. Nominated for a Pulitzer Prize, he has worked as an investigative reporter for 30 years, writing articles on politics, medicine, and health for CBS Healthwatch, LA Weekly, Spin Magazine, Stern, and other newspapers and magazines in the US and Europe. Jon has delivered lectures and seminars on global politics, health, logic, and creative power to audiences around the world. You can sign up for his free NoMoreFakeNews emails here or his free OutsideTheRealityMachine emails here.

2 comments on “More on why I named my site NoMoreFakeNews in 2001

  1. Anne Mason says:

    The above article on drugs and interactions with children hit home. Florida has just had a
    shooting with 17 young lives lost. Twitter is full of comments and anger at the President and
    NRA. A few post mention drugs (Good). Self interest always seems to come first even when
    lives are lost, so sad. I believe anti depressants also impact kids. ‘A Society that cannot defend
    its’ children has no tomorrow’ (V. Putin). I at one time worked for a large pharmaceutical Co.
    and now know it was about the $$$ not the patient/results/better lives, etc. Have seen many
    teens fall into the pot to drug highway and some didn’t make it. Here in Canada the Prime
    Minister is planning legal pot for July this year, for $$$ to the Govt. coffers, but says to
    reduce crime & protect kids. Insane plan but likely part of NWO. I often say to my husband
    I’m glad I’m 68 with where the world is going. I know over the years I have made some changes
    but for every positvie they seem to come out with something more to destroy mankind with
    greed behind it all. (money/and/or power)
    I’m looking forward to reading some more of your articles.

    Thank you for the site and I will share.

  2. mangledman says:

    Indeed! I was wondering about this very subject, how long you held the name. Way before the term fake news showed up!
    Well done

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.